Pop culture obsessives writing for the pop culture obsessed.
Pop culture obsessives writing for the pop culture obsessed.

Thor: The Dark World (2013)

Thor: The Dark World
Thor: The Dark World

Release Date: November 8, 2013

The story: After quelling unrest throughout the Nine Realms that followed from the destruction of the Rainbow Bridge, Thor returns to Earth, where Jane Foster and Darcy Lewis have discovered a mysterious element called the Aether that attaches itself to Jane’s body, and is slowly killing her. Thor returns to Asgard with Jane in search of a solution, where they are attacked by Malekith and the Dark Elves, who were prevented from unleashing the Aether eons ago. Thor springs Loki from jail to help him defeat Malekith. After their first attempt to destroy the Aether fails, Malekith bonds with the power, and a fight through portals connecting all the Nine Realms eventually ends with Malekith being crushed by his own collapsing ship. Thor returns to Earth to be with Jane, and it’s revealed Loki is impersonating Odin and secretly ruling Asgard.


Who appears:
Jane Foster
Erik Selvig
Malekith and the Dark elves
Darcy Lewis
The Collector

Noteworthy events: There’s a brief uncredited appearance by Chris Evans, in a scene where Loki is impersonating Captain America. Thor’s mother Frigga is killed by Malekith, thus spurring Loki to seek revenge. The mid-credits scene reveals Volstagg and Sif delivered the Aether to The Collector, who next appears in Guardians Of The Galaxy.

Share This Story

Get our newsletter